Forum Discription: Your Questions about Barrett's Oesophagus
URL: http://www.barrettscampaign.org.uk/forum//forum_posts.asp?TID=1295
Printed Date: 15 Oct 2019 at 1:44pm

Topic: pH test running - LOL!!!!!
Posted By: Sandra W
Subject: pH test running - LOL!!!!!
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2014 at 3:28pm
Hi to all,

LOL!!! It could only happen to me!!! HA!!!! Got to Eltham station at 10am this morning to catch train to London Bridge for my manometry & pH tests at 11.30.  All trains for that line cancelled because of complete signal failure at New Cross.  Advised to get the Victoria train and change at Lewisham.  Got to Lewisham, the was told to take DLR, which I have never used before, so I don't know my way around.  Luckily a couple got on with me at Eltham and knew the stops, so finally got to Guy's at 11.35am!!!  Worried about being late, but it wasn't a problem as they were running 1 hour late.

Got into the test room feeling absolutely dreadful - bowel really hurt.  Technician sprayed loads of anaesthetic, which made me feel sick, then tried to get the tube up right nostril but couldn't - it seemed to be blocked.  Had another go on the left side and finally succeeded getting the tube in place.  I then had to swallow water when told; this went on for about 20 minutes; next, I was asked to eat a sandwich while the pressure readings were recorded, and I nearly ended up being sick.  Finally, after what seemed like eternity, she took the large manometry probe out and inserted the pH probe, which is much finer and is now recording.