Message Icon Topic: another member of the BO club Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 3 Next >>
JohnMc
Newbie Plus
Newbie Plus

Online Status: Offline
Quote JohnMc Replybullet Topic: another member of the BO club
    Posted: 13 Sep 2012 at 10:33am
Hi, I'm 45yo, live in Preston UK and was diagnosed with BO last Friday. I have a small hiatus hernia and have had indigestion / heartburn for possibly 20 years. Rennie's have been my best friend during that time but I now see they've been my worst enemy as they stopped me taking the problem to the doctor.

About me: I'm married and have two young kids aged 8 and 7. I work as an Adoption Social Worker.

I've just spoken with my GP. The hospital have asked if I want to be placed on the monitoring program, which I have confirmed.

The GP told me that the term c2m3 was used to refer to the Barrett's, the GP was unclear what that means, would anyone here have any idea?

I'm getting my head around the diagnosis but feel I need more info. C2M3 ? My GP couldn't tell me the length of the Barrett's cell changes, and I'm unclear what the biopsy results are? I'm usually pretty laid back but am taking this seriously and want to know more. Does the C2 M3 code tell me all I need to know.

In terms of diet big changes are needed, I eat all the wrong things and love a drink (my preference is to excess). I've kicked vodka into touch, but how safe is a few beers (bitter)? I may now have to start eating vegetables, but am happy to replace red meat with fish.

Overall it looks like some fundamental changes to my lifestyle are needed, fortunately I took up cycling at the beginning of this year, have lost 1 1/2 stone and am doing approx 100 miles per week at an average of 16mph, so I'm fitter than I've been for years.

I'm sure the above is all over the place but I suppose most if not all members of this forum will understand where I'm currently at.