General
 Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Support Forum :General
Message Icon Event: Alcohol and Barretts - Event Date: 29áMará2011 Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Marie63
Newbie Plus
Newbie Plus

Online Status: Offline
Quote Marie63 Replybullet Calendar Event: Alcohol and Barretts
    Posted: 29áMará2011 at 9:34pm

Hi all, I am new to the support group as I have just recently been diagnosed with Barretts. So i have given up smoking, changed my diet, bought a new bed to sleep upright, etc etc. but..... I am going out with friends at weekend and will be having a drink!, I don't drink alcohol a lot but when i go out i normally drink lager, or Tia maria and coke - i know it recommends 'No alcohol', but crikey, whats left?? So does anyone know of a safe and fairly low alcohol drink that i could get away with and not do too  much aggrevation to the acid reflux? Confused x

IP IP Logged
chrisrob
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote chrisrob Replybullet Posted: 29áMará2011 at 9:56pm
Hi Marie,

Welcome to this exclusive club with an entry criteria none of us want

As far as alcoholic drinks go, you'll probably have to experiment (not too many different ones at once ) as we are all different.

For me I found I was OK with red wine (though not white), a small brandy (but not whisky), bitter (but not lager), cream liqueurs (but not citric ones).
But others will have had different experiences.

Just be careful and keep a note of what feels OK.

But I also found plain water gave me reflux whereas, against most advice, sparkling water was OK. But I also could not drink very much without having something yo eat at the same time to help soak up the liquid to stop it splashing.

(But now I've had the fundo op, I can drink anything!)

All the best

Chris
IP IP Logged
johnd
Groupie
Groupie

Quote johnd Replybullet Posted: 29áMará2011 at 10:22pm