Support Forum
 Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Support Forum :Support Forum
Message Icon Topic: New member Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Paul Bonetti

Online Status: Offline
Quote Paul Bonetti Replybullet Topic: New member
    Posted: 20 Apr 2010 at 3:54pm
Hello. My name is Paul and my wife Karen has recently been diagnosed with Barretts Oesophagus. Is it normal for Karen to feel really tired and depressed? We are only begining to learn about this condition and are very keen to educate ourselves as much as possible. It is great to find a site that offers so much support. Thank you.

Paul and Karen.
IP IP Logged
LazyLout

Quote LazyLout Replybullet Posted: 20 Apr 2010 at 4:54pm
Welcome to the forum Paul & Karen I hope you find it informative and supportive.

I can only speak for myself in saying that fatigue and depression affect me. Only the experts can say whether there is a connection or not (I am still a newbie.)

Lazy
IP IP Logged
Richard M

Quote Richard M Replybullet Posted: 21 Apr 2010 at 10:58pm
Welcome to the Forum Paul. I hope you will find it as helpful (and friendly) as I have done.

Is Karen taking prescribed medication for her condition? If she is then this may be relevant.

I've been on a course of Proton Pump Inhibitors (PPIs) to try and control my Barrett's since it was diagnosed about a year ago. I have felt very tired since taking this course of medication. This treatment seems to work well for some people - but not for everyone as you will read on the Forum pages. I think I had Barrett's for about 4 - 5 years before it was diagnosed. I cannot say that my tiredness started then. I cannot say if I am depressed or not. My wife just says that I am grumpy.