Barrett's Oesophagus
 Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Oesophagus
Message Icon Topic: Waiting to find out results 36yrs old female Post Reply Post New Topic
poppy1972
Unrecognised
Unrecognised

Online Status: Offline
Quote poppy1972 Replybullet Topic: Waiting to find out results 36yrs old female
    Posted: 10 Oct 2009 at 10:31pm
Hi
 I'm new to all of this.  I am waiting to find out if i do indeed have Barretts, although from the photos i have from my Gastoscopy and the fact my consultant mentioned Barretts on several occassions i will not be surprised to find that i do have this condition.

I've read up loads on the internet and cannot find anywhere anyone who has this condition at my age.  I am 36 have had heartburn continually for tthe past 20 months during my last pregnancy and for the preceeding 16months.  I was diagnoised with acid reflux cough during pregnancy and told just to take Gaviscon.  The cough cleared on delivery of my daughter but the heartburn continued, to this day. 

I have been back it on numerous occassions to the doctors and each time been fobbed off with "it will pass, its due to pregnancy"  it was only because i insisted that i get some better tablets that i was given lansaprole for 3 months to see if the condition improved - which it did.  When i stopped taking the medication the symtoms returned within days.  It was at this point that i went back to the doctors and insisted on a referral which they would not do under the NHS as the GP just wanted me to take the tablets and control the condition.

Thank god i had private medical insurance.  I have had a gastoscopy this week and was advised that the entrance to my stomach does not close atall, lots of biopsies were taken which i am awaiting the results of, there is a lot of red around the entrance to my stomach visible on the photos which the consultant has pointed out to me.  So you can imagine how worried i am by all of this.