Barrett's Oesophagus
 Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Support Forum :Barrett's Oesophagus
Message Icon Topic: Another newbie to the forum Post Reply Post New Topic
NeilC

Online Status: Offline
Quote NeilC Replybullet Topic: Another newbie to the forum
    Posted: 02†Mar†2009 at 9:45pm

Hi, Im new to this so i just thought Iíd write and say hi and let you know a bit about myself

Iíve recently been diagnosed with Barretts (confirmed in January) and have gone through what many others have mentioned in previous posts about researching everything that can be found on the web and then thinking the worst is going to happen.

I did this for a good two / three weeks and really got myself worked up about it, (did I mention that I suffer from Anxiety aswell) and to be fair it still scares the living daylights out of me but Iím sort of coming to accept it based on some of the words of encouragement given out by many on this forum.

My diagnosis was sort of stumbled upon almost by accident. I donít think that I suffer from any of the Ďnormalí symptoms mentioned in that I donít get heartburn, I get the odd bout of indigestion (but doesnít everyone) and I live a pretty normal life. I do however have IBS which Iíve lived with for 20 years (Im currently 37). Iíve since found out that one of the associated symptoms of IBS is GERD which I had no idea about until I read about it via wikipedia